What drew me to toxic-faith communities? Pt I

When I set out to write a memoir, I had no idea that my story would shape itself around my experience in toxic faith communities.  I expected to make some reference to my years at Community Chapel and Bible Training Center, the most toxic ten years of my life, but the incorporation of subsequent unhealthy church experiences surprised me.  How could I ignore the fact that  history had repeated itself?  And though these other experiences were not as dramatic as my CCBTC experience, I recognized, and could not ignore,  a pattern in my life.  What drew me to these types of faith communities?   

I began to search my soul.

Leave a Reply

