A little pity party

I rarely allow myself the luxury of feeling sorry for myself, but today I feel too lousy to resist.  This is the first Wednesday I’ve had off in months. The plan?  1. attend Toastmasters 2. go to woman’s Bible study.  3.  write! write! write!  But I woke up in the middle of the night and watched the end of one movie with my hubbie and the beginning of another.  We turned the TV off at 3 a.m. and went to bed.  I slept through Toastmasters and Bible study.  Woke up and watched the end of Julia and Julie and another movie in full. 

Watching the end of Julia and Julie, a movie I found delightfully entertaining and encouraging the first time I saw it, this time seemed an unwelcome reminder of my unpublished book.  Julie Powell faithfully poured her heart out on a daily blog not knowing if anyone read it.  Before the year was out, Julie Powell received 65 calls from editors, literary agents, and publishers after a New York Times article publicised  her cooking and blogging experiment.  They invited her to write a book. That book turned into a movie. And she didn’t even have a book proposal!  How lucky can a break be? 

I’d sure like a break like that.  But for now, it’s back to the proposal.

Leave a Reply

