Accept the Beautiful You

Lady Gaga and Marsha Susan Tracy have something in common.

No, it’s not my powerful voice, my outrageous outfits, or my world renowned success as a pop artist. I am a regular person with a slightly above-average voice, a fairly standard wardrobe, and an $11.50/hr + health-care-benefits job. What I do have in common with Lady Gaga, has nothing to do with talent, fame, or money.

As children, we were both bullied by other children. I was teased for my nose, tolerated degrading names like weirdo and retard, and endured beatings by boys who followed me home after school.  Lady Gaga also endured humiliating treatment that despite her mega-star status, still trouble her.” In her 3/19/2012 interview with Oprah Winfrey, Lady Gaga confessed, “Sometimes I feel worthless.”  There are times that I also doubt my adequacy. That’s how deep the shame and the scars resulting from bullying go.

We are also alike in that we have used the cruel treatment we endured for good. Our struggles have fueled an extraordinary compassion and passion for others who have been ostracized. Lady Gaga reaches out to others through her music and her “I Was Born This Way” campaign.  I reach out to others through my writing and speaking.

I believe that human beings have an innate need for emotional and spiritual intimacy, and when that need is not fulfilled, or in some way interfered with, intimacy may feel threatening or confusing. I am not talking about sexual intimacy. I am talking about strong, emotional connection with the significant people in one’s life. To love another, to love yourself, to be an individual can be a scary thing.

Be an individual!  Accept the beautiful you!

These words excerpted from the Lady Gaga song “Born This Way” say it best:

My mama told me when I was young

We are all born superstars

She rolled my hair and put my lipstick on

In the glass of her boudoir

There’s nothin’ wrong with lovin’ who you are

She said, ‘cause He made you perfect, babe

So hold your head up, girl and you’ll go far

Listen to me when I say

I’m beautiful in my way

“Cause God makes no mistakes

I’m on the right track, baby

I was born this way

http://www.metrolyrics.com/born-this-way-lyrics-lady-gaga.html

Leave a Reply

