Link

Forgive and Forget?

This weekend I visited a church I used to attend.  Many changes have occurred since I walked out the door seven years ago: new people came, old people left, babies born, décor changed from gaudy to simple, pastor put out of the church, former youth group members become new church leaders.

The service was excellent and I enjoyed worshiping with old friends.  Yet something nagged me. I knew too much to forget. I witnessed the cover up, spoke to the victims, watched families fall apart and children question God. Then, I saw the church go about their business as if cleansed of evil doers.

What do I do with all that knowing?

I know that Christians are called to forgive as Christ forgave us, but do I forgive and forget or do I forgive and tell the truth in love?

Leave a Reply

