Rejection

For some reason, the “rejection” I got yesterday hit me unlike most others.

Perhaps it was the wording, “We can’t do anything for you.”

Those words sound terminal, as if I had sent them a disease instead of a promotion plan and they really meant, “If we can’t do anything for you, nobody can.”  Then they encouraged me to try self-publishing to “test the market.”

I’m not saying they had a bad idea—I have already decided to look into ebook publishing, not simply to “test the market,” but to build a following.  I’m saying that my confidence took a hit.  I questioned myself and my writing. Is the book good enough? Am I a potentially good writer or a good writer?  Am I a good writer, but not good enough? Yaada Yaada Yaada.

All you writers out there have experienced or will experience doubt in their writing abilities.

There is always room to grow as a writer.  And there is always some way to recalibrate one’s perspective.  And there is always the opportunity to discuss doubts with God.  That’s what I did.  I talked to the God of the Universe yesterday.

“I could sure use something to renew my spirit, brighten my vision, and fuse my passion, as a writer, Lord.  I’ve been sure for years that you have been well pleased with what I’m writing, but now I’m wondering. If you’re not pleased with my writing efforts, please show me.  Though, I would sure feel good if you gave me something to encourage me to keep on writing. “

Then I proceeded to write an email to Kim Barnes, an amazing Idaho author whom I regard as one of my mentors in ways.  Her writing is the bar.

AND  Kim wrote back!

2 thoughts on “Rejection

  1. Pingback: Submission, Rejection, and Success « Claudsy's Blog

Leave a Reply

