Stephen King Says…

Image

Stephen King, one of my writing mentors, suggests in his memoir “On Writing,” that a writer should let a draft “season” for six weeks.  He says to resist the temptation–and it is a temptation–to sneak a look at a pending manuscript.  But even though it hasn’t been quite six weeks yet, I do not want to wait any longer.

I don’t think I should pass up the wonderful resource unemployment has opened up for me: time. I feel an urgency to use that time to get back into the flow before I get back into a “real job” flow.  

Thanks Steve, but I need to get the show on the road. I have been working on this book for long enough!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Stephen King Says…

  1. Pingback: Rereading Stephen King week 11 – Cujo « Black and White World

Leave a Reply

