Why Post a Non-Writing Related Blog on a Blog About Writing?!?

As most writers know, regardless of talent, perseverance, desire, or dreams, they cannot afford to give up their non-writing day job (or night job, for that matter).  As depressing as this tidbit of reality sounds, it isn’t all bad.

The skills you possess as a writer improve other life experiences.  That creative and technical drive you cart to work every day enhances your problem-solving, critical-thinking, attention to detail skills, not to mention your idea bank. And thus, as a writer, you are a better employee.

As a writer you are a better friend, parent, and sibling.  Why?  Because you are never dull or boring.  You are fun to be around because you think outside the box. You are creative and you are spontaneous.

My day job has much to do with my writer side. The dynamic between day job and writing  has been one of my two greatest challenges.  Day job and raising small children is the second most challenging.  I don’t know how I ever did all three (day job, raise children, and write). How can I write if I work (as if writing isn’t working)? When can I write? Where will I get the energy to write after a 40-hour work week?  How do you do it?

So, my last three posts about my job has much to do with my pursuit to be a “real” writer. And it has much to do with your pursuit, as well.

2 thoughts on “Why Post a Non-Writing Related Blog on a Blog About Writing?!?

  1. Pingback: The myth of working from home for the aspiring writer « datanode.net

Leave a Reply

